Latest News

What's been happening at Cathedral Grammar this week?

View all the latest news >

Board & Staff


Chaplain Vacancy

The Cathedral Grammar School currently has a 50% Chaplain vacancy. Please follow the link for a position description:  Chaplain Vacancy 2018-Position Description.pdf


Board of Governors

The Cathedral Grammar School is governed by a Trust Board, the members of which are appointed by the Dean and Chapter of ChristChurch Cathedral.  The Warden of the school is The Bishop of Christchurch.

The Trust Board may comprise up to 14 members:

  • The Dean of Christchurch
  • Seven members appointed by Chapter
  • Three members appointed by Chapter from nominations by the Friends' Association (parents)
  • Three members appointed by Chapter from nominations by the Grammarians' Association (former pupils)

Board Members

  • Mr HDP van Schreven LLB (Acting Chair)
  • Ms C Bellette MBA (Dist.), B.Com.
  • Mr R Dennis B.A., B.Sc.
  • The Very Reverend Lawrence Kimberley
  • Mr AM Oorschot  B.Com., CA(PP), CMA
  • Mr H Rolleston
  • Mr Andre Hofenk
  • Mrs Amelia Simpson B.A., LLB
  • Mr R Spurway B.E.

For more information on the Board and the members please follow the link. Board biographies



Teaching Staff

The backbone of our school, our teachers are well qualified and highly skilled. Small class sizes and generous resourcing allow the staff to provide the very best learning for each child. Extensive use of specialist teachers, at all levels, to supplement the core classroom activities and subjects ensures that each staff member has the time to provide individualised support to each pupil.

Back to top

Our Location

To arrange a visit please contact the School:

Street Address

The Cathedral Grammar School
26 Park Terrace
Christchurch 8013

Phone: (03) 365 0385
Fax: (03) 365 0384

Postal Address

The Cathedral Grammar School
PO Box 2244
Christchurch 8140